Republic of Congo


  The Republic of the Congo, also know as Congo Brazzaville or simply Congo is a country located in central Africa.

It is bordered by five countries: GabonCameroon, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo and Angola.The region is dominated by Bantu-speaking tribes, with four distinct ethnic group such as Kongo, Sangha, Teke, M'bochi.

Official language are French, Ligala and Kituba.

Before Congo-Brazzaville was formerly part of the French colony of Equatorial Africa, it was part of the ancient Great Kongo kingdom.

The Kingdom of Kongo was a highly developed state at the center of an extensive trading network. Apart from natural resources and ivory, the country manufactured and traded copper wareferrous metal goods, raffia cloth, and pottery. The Kongo people spoke in the Kikongo language. The eastern regions, especially that part known as the Seven Kingdoms of Kongo dia Nlaza (or in Kikongo Mumbwadi or "the Seven"), were particularly famous for the production of cloth. 

Motto: "Unité, Travail, Progrès" (French)
"Unity, Work, Progress"​


• 2014 estimate

4,662,446[1] (124th)

• Density

12.8/km2 (33.2/sq mi) (204th)